To view graphic version of this page, refresh this page (F5)

Skip to page body

Fiscal Year 2013-2014 Approved Budget


The Office of Community Investment & Infrastructure is the Successor Agency to the San Francisco Redevelopment Agency. On February 1, 2012 the San Francisco Redevelopment Agency (“SFRA”), along with all 400 redevelopment agencies in California, was dissolved pursuant to Assembly Bill 26 (“AB 26”) and by order of the California State Supreme Court. In June of 2012, Assembly Bill 1484 was passed to further clarify certain aspects of the dissolution of redevelopment agencies, and together the two assembly bills are known as the “Dissolution Law”. Pursuant to the Dissolution Law and to Board of Supervisors Ordinance 215-12, the City has created the Office of Community Investment and Infrastructure (“OCII”) as the Successor Agency to the San Francisco Redevelopment Agency. As Successor Agency, OCII succeeds to the organizational status of SFRA but without any legal authority to participate in redevelopment activities except to complete work related to approved enforceable obligations.

Those enforceable obligations are related to: (1) the Major Approved Development Projects (defined as the Hunters Point Shipyard / Candlestick Point Redevelopment Project, the Mission Bay North and South Redevelopment Project, and the Transbay Redevelopment Project); (2) the asset management of SFRA assets such as Yerba Buena Gardens, existing economic development agreements such as loans, grants, or owner participation agreements, and other real property and assets of SFRA that must be wound down under the Dissolution Law; and (3) OCII’s Retained Housing Obligations which include ensuring the development of affordable housing in the Major Approved Development Projects as well as fulfilling a Replacement Housing Obligation.


The Commission on Community Investment and Infrastructure, which was established by the City through Ordinance 215-12, is the main governing body of OCII and is responsible for implementing and completing the enforceable obligations of the former redevelopment projects, including exercising land use and design approval authority for the Major Approved Development Projects. The Commission is comprised of five members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Board of Supervisors, with two of the seats held by residents of the two supervisorial districts with the largest amounts of the Major Approved Development Projects.

The Dissolution Law requires that there be an additional governing body known as an Oversight Board to oversee certain functions of OCII as the Successor Agency, and which has a fiduciary duty to the holders of enforceable obligations with the former Redevelopment Agency and to the taxing entities that are entitled to an allocation of property taxes. The Oversight Board of the City and County of San Francisco reviews and approves OCII’s expenditures and use of tax increment through semi-annual Recognized Obligation Payment Schedules (“ROPS”), as well as approving the issuance of any bonds, transfers of property, and other matters related to the dissolution of SFRA. The Mayor appoints four of the seven members of the Oversight Board, subject to confirmation by the Board of Supervisors. One of those four members must represent the largest group of former Agency employees. The remaining three members are representatives of affected taxing entities: the Bay Area Rapid Transit District, the San Francisco Unified School District, and the San Francisco Community College.

The Dissolution Law requires that OCII be a separate legal entity from the City and County of San Francisco, just as SFRA was. However, OCII is still subject to the governance of the City acting through its legislative capacity. Accordingly, the OCII’s budget must be approved first by the Commission and subsequently approved by the Mayor and Board of Supervisors.

Last updated: 10/9/2013 4:03:43 PM